Belated 2014 Post #1

IMG_2900

 

Houston, TX – Late August 2014

Crossed the border Mexico-USA at Laredo. The bus (Senda) stopped for the travel permit process. Since my seat was at the back of the bus, next to the WC, the substitute driver’s cabin and next to a man carrying his annoying son (lucky me), I was the last one to get off.

When it was my turn to get the permit, I walked towards the desk and the officer asked: “Musician?” to which I replied laughing “Sometimes”. After showing him my flight reservation and telling him I’m going on exchange to Spain he tells me that he’s also traveling with Turkish Airlines, just a week later. I proceeded to pay and get back on the bus.

I arrived to Houston after 12 hours (super shitty trip, dirty and noisy bus, and A LOT of stops).  There, Angie (my cousin Javier’s wife) picked me up and while in the city I got to see my cousin, his children, my uncles and also to eat at places I hadn’t tried (Chipotle Mexican Grill, Frank’s Pizza at Downtown Houston, Buffalo Wild Wings and Cracker Barrel).

 

The moment to head to the airport had come.  I have to admit I was really nervous. I got less nervous while chatting with my cousin on the way to the airport but that was useless because when I found myself alone in the line to make the check-in (flight to Istanbul, 30/08/2014) it got worst. I was even thinking: “What am I doing?”, reason why after passing through security I went to a bar and had a beer (Lalo, Laurence: my first Blue Moon!)

 

P.S. Thanks for everything, Javier and Angie!

 

2 thoughts on “Belated 2014 Post #1

Leave a Reply

